Home Education Learn the Basics of An Electrocardiogram

Learn the Basics of An Electrocardiogram

4 min read
Comments Off on Learn the Basics of An Electrocardiogram

Nowadays ECG has become one of the most important and useful tests. With curso de electrocardiograma it becomes possible to quickly identify cardiac threats if any.

What is ECG

Electrocardiogram is a test that depicts the electrical activity of the heart. Standard ECG has 12 leads. Six are considered limb leads which are placed on hands and legs while other six are known as precordial leads that are placed on the chest.

How Do They Interpret An ECG?

An ECG provides two major information about your heart.

  • From the ECG report it is possible for a doctor or a clinician to find time measurement of the wave and how long a wave takes, to pass through chambers of the heart and determine if the electrical activity of the heart is normal, fast or slow and take necessary steps needed.
  • The amount of wave passing through the heart is measured and from this a cardiologist understands whether heart muscles are large or normal

ECG In Detail

An ECG includes waves, intervals, segments, J point and complex.


With every beat of our heart a wave is travelling through the heart. These waves are responsible for pumping blood. There are P wave, Q wave, R wave, S wave, T wave and U wave.

The upper chambers make the “P wave”. It becomes a flat line when the wave goes to bottom chambers.

The bottom chambers make the next wave “QRS complex”. It is also known by PR segment, which is the baseline of an ECG curve.

“T wave” represents end phase of ventricular repolarization. But T wave changes may occur in various conditions and are frequently misunderstood.

A positive wave after the T wave is “U wave”. During slow heart beats U wave will be clearer.


Usually in an ECG report, PR interval, QRS interval, QT interval and RR interval will be there.

  • PR interval means start of p wave to the start of QRS complex
  • QRS interval means from starting and to the end of QRS complex
  • QT interval means start of QRS wave to the end of T wave


Segments represent the length between two specific points on ECG. There are PR segment, ST segment and TP segment.


There is only one complex and it is QRS complex in an ECG. which reflects activation and contraction of the ventricles.

J point

J point where QRS complex ends and ST segment starts

Understanding and interpreting cardiac rhythms are arguably a challenging one. If you are thinking of taking up a course in electrocardiogram then International Training Careers offers the best knowledge and experience that you need.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Darik Bucky
Load More In Education
Comments are closed.

Check Also

10 Factors to Consider When Selecting the Best Nursery in Dubai

Are you a parent in Dubai on the quest for the perfect nursery for your little one? Choosi…